Lastminute holidays

Eurovision 2019 Date, Channel and UK Singers

By Mason Mallett | 5 Feb 2019 at 4:39pm

You either love it or hate it! Eurovision is one of the biggest talent singing shows in the world, which features different singing talents representing their own countries throughout the European Broadcasting Union.

Although Eurovision is politically controversial, the show brings laughter, creativity and hair raising vocals, among fantastic sound and visuals. Whether your country wins or loses, it’s always a pleasure to watch.

Eurovision 2019 Date and Channel for UK viewers

The Eurovision song contest final will air Saturday 18th May 2019 at 22:00pm on BBC One. Prior to this, the Semi finals will be taking place on Tuesday 14th May and Thursday 16th May.

The programme will be available on iPlayer shortly after the broadcast.

Where is Eurovision held this year?

Due to Israel winning Eurovision 2018, with the song ‘Toy’ performed by Netta, they get to host this years event. The contest will be held in Tel Aviv’s convention centre called Bitan 2 (Pavillion 2).

Countries participating in Eurovision 2019

There are 42 countries participating in this years Eurovision, the list is almost exactly the same as last years except Bulgaria, who unfortunately had to withdraw out of the competition this year due to financial reasons.

Albania Armenia Australia Austria Azerbaijan Belarus
Belgium Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia
Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland Israel Italy Latvia Lithuania
Malta Moldova Montenegro Netherlands North Macedonia Norway
Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia
Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland Ukraine United Kingdom

Eurovision UK Representing Singer 2019

The official UK singer to represent Eurovision will be announced 8th Feb on “Eurovision You Decide”. Currently there are six singers and three tracks to potentially represent the United Kingdom.

We will update this page when the singer has been announced.

Eurovision Previous Winners

  • 2010 – Germany
  • 2011 – Azerbaijan
  • 2012 – Sweden
  • 2013 – Denmark
  • 2014 – Austria
  • 2015 – Sweden
  • 2016 – Ukraine
  • 2017 – Portugal
  • 2018 – Israel

The UK hasn’t won the Eurovision song contest since 1997, over 20 years ago – could this be our year? Does anyone think we are lucky enough to win this year? Let us know in the comments below!


Related News

Leave a comment